PER Sports MVP analysis over the past 12 NBA seasons

PER Sports has been very accurate in determining the actual MVP winner. Since 1996 when the PER Sports concept was established the player who has finished either first or second in the MVPER rankings in 10 out of the past 12 years has also gone on to win the league MVP award.

Year Actual MVP Winners MVPER Rank #1 ranked Player
1996 Michael Jordan 1 Michael Jordan
1997 Karl Malone 2 Michael Jordan
1998 Michael Jordan 2 Karl Malone
1999 Karl Malone 2 Shaquille O'Neal
2000 Shaquille O'Neal 1 Shaquille O'Neal
2001 Allen Iverson 9 Shaquille O'Neal
2002 Tim Duncan 1 Tim Duncan
2003 Tim Duncan 1 Tim Duncan
2004 Kevin Garnett 1 Kevin Garnett
2005 Steve Nash 4 Amare Stoudemire
2006 Steve Nash 2 Dirk Nowitzki
2007 Dirk Nowitzki 1 Dirk Nowitzki
2008 Kobe Bryant 3 Chris Paul

See other rankings using the PER Sports basketball analysis

The complete 2007/08 NBA Analysis

The 2006/07 player rankings

The ranking of the All-Time Greatest Players

Revolutionary New Basketball Analysis

The Basketball Performance Efficiency Rating (PER) system evaluates players in the nine
statistical categories of points scored, rebounds collected, assists distributed, steals, blocks, turnovers, two-point shooting percentage, three-point shooting percentage,
and free throw percentage.

Each of the first six categories are adjusted from ‘per game’ to ‘per complete game’ by making due adjustments for the actual minutes played each game. The three shooting percentages are combined into one overall
shooting percentage.

The nine categories are then appropriately weighted to reflect their overall contribution to basketball success.

The PER therefore measures their performance relative to a complete game.

The PER scores should be interpreted as follows:
A score of 100 or greater is considered an extraordinary performance (in the top 1% of the entire league)
A score between 90 and 100 is considered a superior performance (top 5%)
A score between 80 and 90 is considered above-average performance
A score below 70 is below-average performance
A score below 60 is considered a significant

The PER methodology has also developed the Most Valuable Player Efficiency Rating (MVPER) award which measures the top MVP performer within the league each year. This measure considers the outstanding player for any given season who had the greatest impact within the league. It combines both strong individual performance – measured by the Individual PER – with his contributions to team wins when that player competed. This MVPER measure therefore combines both individual skills and winning intangible into overall player performance score.